Ilocos Region - Agribusiness Profile

Location and Geography

  •  Area
    • The Ilocos Region is located in the northwestern portion of Luzon and is bounded by the Cordillera provinces on the east, by the Central Luzon provinces on the southwest and by the South China Sea on the west.
    • It is composed of four (4) provinces, namely Ilocos Norte, Ilocos Sur, La Union and Pangasinan with nine (9) cities, namely Laoag and Batac in Ilocos Norte; Vigan and Candon in Ilocos Sur; San Fernando in La Union; and Urdaneta, Dagupan, Alaminos and San Carlos in Pangasinan. There are about 116 municipalities and 56 of these are coastal; twelve (12) congressional districts; and a total of 3,265 barangays.
  • Climate and Topography
    • The Ilocos Region has two seasons: dry from November to May and wet from the rest of the year. The average monthly rainfall ranges from 213 millimeters to as low as 143.78 millimeters.
    • The mean annual air temperature is 27.15oC. The hottest period usually occurs during the month of April and May with temperature of 28.68oC and the coldest months are December, January and February with temperature of 25.75oC.
  • Population (Census 2010)
    • 4.75Million

  • Total Area
    • Total land area: 1.28 Million hectares
    • Agricultural area: 1.02 Million hectares which is 80% of the total land area
      • 405 thousand hectares or 39% are used for grains and high value crops
      • 604 thousand hectares or 59% for livestock
      • 17 thousand hectares or 2% for fishery production

Agricultural Commodities

  • The region has consistently dominated the production of high value commercial crops: