Eastern Visayas - Agribusiness Profile

Location and Geography

  • Area
    • Composed of the 6 provinces of Leyte, Southern Leyte, Biliran, Eastern Samar, Western Samar (Samar) and Northern Samar and the three (3) cities of Tacloban, Ormoc and Calbayog.
    • The region has a total land area of 2 M hectares.
      Agricutural area: 976 thousand hectares.
  • Climate
    • Type II-no dry season but a pronounced maximum rainfall from November to January (Samar Island and Eastern part of Leyte)
    • Type IV even distribution of rainfall year round and a short period of dry season from February to May (western part of the Leyte Island), some portions of Samar from Motiong to San Isidro, Northern Leyte).
  • Population (Census, 2010)
    • 4.101 million

Agricultural Commodities

  • Major agricultural commodities
    • Rice
    • Corn
    • Root crops
    • Banana
    • Sweet potato
  • Leading commercial crops
    • Coconut
    • Sugarcane
    • Pineapple
    • Abaca
    • Banana (Chips)
  • Others
    • Jackfruit
    • Livestock and poultry
    • Fishery. The region also abounds with fishery products as it is endowed with rich fishing grounds:
      • Samar Sea
      • Guian Sea
      • Carigara Bay
      • Leyte Gulf
      • Maqueda Bay
      • Sogod Bay
      • Ormoc Bays